World Football News

Scotland: Andy Robertson, Ryan Fraser and Scott McTominay withdraw from squad

Robertson has played in five of Clarke’s six matches as Scotland manager

Captain Andy Robertson is among a trio of Premier League players to withdraw injured from the Scotland squad for the upcoming Euro 2020 qualifiers with Cyprus and Kazakhstan.

Manchester United midfielder Scott McTominay and Bournemouth winger Ryan Fraser join Liverpool left-back Robertson in pulling out.

Midfielders Lewis Morgan and Graeme Shinnie are added to the squad.

Defender Liam Cooper, the Leeds United captain, withdrew injured on Monday.

Robertson, who delivered the cross for Liverpool’s second goal in the 3-1 win over Manchester City on Sunday, will remain with Steve Clarke’s Scotland squad for a couple of days but will not travel to Cyprus for Saturday’s match.

His absence deprives Clarke of another high-calibre left-back after Kieran Tierney was left out of the squad at Arsenal’s request.

McTominay was carried off with an ankle injury during Manchester United’s 3-1 weekend win over Brighton, while Fraser played the full 90 minutes of Bournemouth’s 2-1 loss at Newcastle United.

Celtic’s Morgan is drafted in despite having made just three club appearances since August, while Shinnie has impressed at Derby County since breaking into the team last month.

Scotland face Cyprus in Nicosia on Saturday before ending their Group I campaign at home to Kazakhstan on Tuesday.

Clarke’s men cannot qualify from the group, but have a play-off semi-final in March against an opponent yet to be finalised.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Craig MacGillivray (Portsmouth), David Marshall (Wigan Athletic), Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland)

Defenders: Michael Devlin (Aberdeen), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Stephen O’Donnell (Kilmarnock), Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Greg Taylor (Celtic)

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Ryan Jack (Rangers), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Lewis Morgan (Celtic), Graeme Shinnie (Derby County)

Forwards: Oliver Burke (Alaves, on loan from West Bromwich Albion), James Forrest (Celtic), Oliver McBurnie (Sheffield United), Steven Naismith (Heart of Midlothian), Lawrence Shankland (Dundee United)

Source link . More news

Leave a Response



Up to the minute football news